Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
MORNINGS: Mondays - Fridays 8.00AM - 3.30PM
EVENINGS: Mondays - Fridays 4.00P.M - 9.00PM. Clinicals on Saturdays from 7.00A.M - 4.00PM (2 Weeks).
CNA Class Registration Requirements
- Social security card.
- State ID or drivers license.
- Enrollment deposit of $300 or full tuition of $500 (Cash, Cashier's Check or Money Order).
- PPD TB skin test result or chest X-Ray result. (Not needed for registration but due by Wednesday of 1st week or student will be terminated from the program).
- Minimum of 6th grade reading comprehension.
- High school diploma or GED is NOT required.
- Must be 17 years of age or older.
*Students are required to wear white scrub set uniform and "plain white sneakers/gym shoes" (no colorful prints, clogs, sandals or slippers). Bring notepads, pencil/pen for note taking and have a positive attitude. The class includes lectures, video presentations, quizzes, oral/written, hands-on skills, demonstrations and practices. There will be opportunities to ask questions. We accept walk-ins!
Job Placement & Assistance
We assist with Job placement. Looking for a job in the medical field? Call us for a list of agencies that might be in need of your services 248-850-7110.
Our CNA course is 75 hours (2 weeks) long. The course teaches skills and theory that focus on the six principles of care: Dignity, Infection Control, Safety, Communication, Independence and Privacy. It enables participants to provide quality care for residents in long term care facilities and in their homes.
Students learn the proper way to take blood pressure, pulse rate, temperature and respiration, personal care, grooming, communication skills in the class, lab, clinical settings and more. Our students are given individual attention as necessary to help them achieve their goal.
- Laboratory sessions.
- Clinical instructions and rotations.
- State certification exam preparation.
- Books and handouts.
Upon Successful completion of the CNA course, graduates receive the Hazy Institute completion certificate and become eligible to take the Michigan Nurse Aide Competency Evaluation for State Certification. Graduates are responsible for paying $125 for their State of Michigan Certified Nursing Assistant Examination.
Certified Nursing Assistant Reimbursement Law
According to the Medical Assistance Program Bulletin 5370-90-03 and The Nursing Home Reform Act of 1987, and in regard to Section 4801 (a)(5)(D) of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990: A Certified Nurse Aide who pays for their own education in a state approved CNA program, who goes to work in a Long Term Care Facility or Nursing Home that accepts Medicaid patients, must be reimbursed on a pro-rata basis, for their education up to $500.00, within one year of graduation from a state approved program.
This does not include Assisted Living, Hospitals, Agencies and Home Health Care companies. Facilities that are on "Lock-out" must still reimburse students for their education. Copies of the law and its subclasses are available by calling the State of Michigan.
Who's a CNA?
A Certified Nursing Assistant, or CNA, helps patients or clients with healthcare needs under the supervision of a Registered Nurse (RN) or a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN). Also known as a Nursing Assistant (NA), a Patient Care Assistant (PCA), or a State Tested Nurse Aid (STNA).
Common work sites for CNA’s include: hospitals, hospices, doctor offices/practice groups, nursing homes, home health care agencies, assisted living facilities, staffing agencies, day care centers and schools, medical clinics, urgent care centers. To become a CNA one needs to possess strong work ethics.